Anita from Tabor College

Anita

 

Anita Dunbar….Bachelor of Music; Graduate Certificate in Counselling; Masters in Counselling Practice (current)

My name is Anita Dunbar, and I am currently on a field placement in the Learner Wellbeing Centre from Tabor College.  I commenced my work at the beginning of this year, and have been really thankful for the warm welcome I have received from so many in the Wirreanda community.

In addition to enjoying a successful and very rewarding career in piano teaching, I have had a number of interesting musical jobs including working as an accompanist for the Adelaide Girls Choir, teaching piano in small groups for a company known as Future Music Australia, and working as the music director for the children’s television program Here’s Humphrey (some of the parents out there may remember this funny old fellow!)

 

Throughout my background in music education, and also in my journey as a mother of two beautiful daughters, I have long felt the desire to provide support to those struggling with life’s inevitable challenges.  It is this genuine passion for people and their stories that has directly led me to pursue a new career in counselling, in which I am dedicated to helping each individual reach their true potential.  

I have been trained in a number of areas including Narrative Therapy, working with addictions, Solution Focused Therapy, and Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, and have a particular interest in Acceptance and Commitment Therapy.  Regardless of the modality I utilise, my aim is always to create a warm and understanding atmosphere for discussion as I encourage positivity in others.

I have thoroughly enjoyed my time so far in the Learner Wellbeing Centre, and I look forward to continuing work and meeting many new people during the remainder of this year.  I am at Wirreanda every Tuesday and Wednesday:)

Leave a Reply

