DECD Education Leaders Conference 2015

One of our fantastic students guest speaking at the DECD Education Leaders Conference 2015. Her speech below:

“Hello my name is Cheyenne, I am a year 9 Aboriginal student from Wirreanda Secondary School. I am here to talk to you about the opportunities I have received from my education to develop my leadership and communication skills.

In 2014 I had the opportunity to be a mentor for the deadly start to high school, through communication and relationships; I was able to support aboriginal students transitioning from primary school into secondary school. I was able to show them that secondary school wasn’t so scary.

That year I chose to host a Japanese student as well as a buddy. I supported my buddy to improve her English as well as teach her about the Australian lifestyle and culture. It was an enlightening experience to know that she was amazed by the size of our house and backyard because it was something I took for granted

At the beginning of this year I was chosen to attend the university of Sydney Wingara Mura summer school. During the course of the week I met about 200 hundred other aboriginal and Torres Strait islander students from across Australia who have an interest in attending university.

In my spare time I am a CFS cadet at Morphett vale, and I am also a qualified boundary umpire for the Southern Football League. When I complete secondary school I want to be either a firefighter or politician. Being a firefighter allows me to save people, animals and people’s homes. Becoming a politician interests me because I want to have a say in what happens in Australia. Last year I was one of the student leaders in Year 8 and on day I would like to be School Captain.

For me, education gives me the chance to chase my dreams. My school has supported me as I chase my dreams through programs, activities and opportunities for leadership. The Nunga Room is a place within the school where I feel safe. The Nunga Room is a place filled with people we can trust, people we can rely on and people like Mr. Yates and Azra who treat us a family. The Nunga Room is a place that all schools should have because like ours you can be supported emotionally, mentally, spiritually, physically and culturally.

I would just like to say thank you for listening.”

IMG_8975

Leave a Reply

